Thursday, June 5, 2008

Chaps my ass...

I read a post on Jenn Lancaster's blog today about debt collectors calling about a $13 credit card bill that was four days late. She give a hilarious rundown of the calls she had to clear up the situation.

This sounds almost exactly like a call I have with my mortgage company around the 8th of every month. I've been unfailingly mailing in my check on the first of the month WHEN I GET PAID for the past three years. Apparently, my mortgage company is under enough pressure from the dire housing market that they feel the need to call anyone whose payments are more than two days past due.

So despite never missing a payment to them or even incurring a late fee, I get a series of calls from them starting on the 8th of the month to bug me for payment. I've asked that they put a note in my file not to call until the 15th or so (if a check is lost in the mail, I want to know).

Last month? Our conversation went like this (I returned their call):

Them: Do you realize this is an attempt to collect a debt?

Me: Yes, the check is in the mail, as it has been on the first of EVERY MONTH FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS! Why am I recently receiving these calls?!

Them: *typing and loud conversations in the background* Oh ma'am, our records show your payment was received today.

Me: Well, wouldn't it have been nice if your payment center linked up with your automatic caller so we could have avoided this unpleasantness? *click*

Chaps my ass.

No comments: